The political history of Pakistan ‎ is the narrative and analysis of political events, ideas, movements, and leaders of Pakistan. Pakistan gained independence from the United Kingdom on 14 August 1947, when the Presidencies and provinces of British India was divided by the United Kingdom, in a region which is commonly referred to as the Indian subcontinent. Since its independence, Pakistan has had a colorful yet turbulent political history at times, often characterized by martial law and inefficient. The Pakistan Movement, as it came to be known, was based on the principle of two-nation theory, and aimed to establish a separate homeland for Muslims in South Asia. This was a movement against the oppression, that Muslims felt in the face of an increasingly politicized Hindu majority. The Pakistan Movement was spearheaded by Muhammad Ali Jinnah and staunchly opposed by some of Muslim religious scholars.

img ">

1990 Pakistani general election (NA-92 Lahore)

General elections were held in Pakistan on 24 October 1990 to elect 217 members of the National Assembly. They resulted in a surprise victory for Isla Details

img ">

General election 1993 (NA-93)

General elections were held in Pakistan on 6 October 1993. The election took place after both the Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and President Ghulam Ish Details

img ">

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (2018-Present)

In July 2018, Humayun Akhtar joined Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf. Having served as a Member of the National Assembly several times from all of the areas c Details

img ">

Alliance with PML-N (2012-2013)

In May 2012 the Likeminded Group formed an alliance with the PML (N) in a bid to unite all Muslim League factions under the leadership of Nawaz Sharif Details

img ">

Prime Ministerial Candidacy (2002-2004)

In 2002 when PML (Q) was forming its government, Humayun Akhtar was one of the candidates considered for the post of Prime Minister. However, Presiden Details

img ">

Formation of PML-Q (1999-2002)

After the military coup in 1999 in which Nawaz Sharif was overthrown by General Pervez Musharraf, Humayun Akhtar along with many of Nawaz Sharifs clos Details